What is a new Skilled Work Regional Visa Subclass 491 ?

Australia’s new Skilled Work Regional Visa Subclass 491 will start accepting the applications from November 16, 2019.  The subclass 491 visa will allow skilled workers along and their families to live, work and reside in the designated regional areas of Australia for five years.  After residing for three years, visa holders are eligible to apply for a permanent residence visa.

Useful Link : check your eligibility for subclass 491 visa 

To be eligible to get the nomination, applicants must:

a) An Australian state or territory government agency ;

b) Sponsorship by family members residing in designated areas of Australia and be invited to apply for the visa, following submission of an Expression of Interest (EOI) in SkillSelect.

Skilled Work Regional Visa will replace the existing subclass 489 visa and be in function from November 16, 2019. This point-based visa program is valid for five years. Visa holders are allowed to move between Regional areas that exclude Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, the Gold Coast, and Perth.

Useful Link : Check out the ways to Immigrate to Australia on temporary or permanent visa

Requirements of Subclass 491 visa

a) The applicant should be 45 or less than 45 at the time of submitting and receiving the invitation.

b) Visa holders can’t apply for other skilled visas unless they have completed three years in a designated regional visa.

c) Condition 8579 will be imposed citing that visa holders should live, work and study only in regional areas.

d) After residing in designated area for three years, subclass 491 or 494visa holders can apply for a subclass 191 visa which is a permanent residency visa.

e) Visa holders have to show minimum earnings of $53,900 per annum for three years to be eligible to apply for the subclass 191 visa.

Read more : Explore Australia as a tourist on Tourist Visa

Summary of the Subclass 491 visa

a) Over 14,000 places allotted each year and 504 eligible occupations are available.

b) Visa will be granted for five years.

c) Have to live and work in Regional areas for three years to get a permanent residency visa subclass 191 visa.

d) Regional areas include all the areas except Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, the Gold Coast.

e) Unable to apply for other skilled visa or subclass 820 partner visa for three years.

Useful Link : Avail information about Australia Visitor Visa subclass 600 

Benefits of the Subclass 491 visa

a) The processing of regional applications is done on a priority basis.

b) Additional points are given to subclass 491 visa holders.

c) Incentives are given to applicants for staying in regional areas for a longer term as they build ties through workforce and community participation.

For availing more information about Skilled Regional Visa Subclass 491, contact our Immigration experts on Toll-free number +91-7042184185 or send your queries at info@makevisas.com.